Reasons to be cheerful

6

September 13, 2013 by Sian Rowland

The hardest part of being an aspiring writer (creative writing is what I do in my spare time) is dealing with rejection. I’ve often been really close but not close enough. I had a couple of rejections this week including the script which I blogged about recently. I did, however, make the longlist out of hundreds of entries which is fantastic and they said I was a ‘talented writer with real potential’ which is pretty good for my first ever script. But on a grey, rainy day it’s easy to be frustrated by feeling not quite good enough so in a Buzzfeed stylee here are my Friday afternoons reasons to be cheerful.

1)      Friday + rain= curry night.  I live near Tooting and we have a huge choice of curry houses that are all amazing. I’ve also just put a bottle of wine in the fridge for double treats. I’m not supposed to drink wine anymore because I’m salycilate-sensitve due to my health condition but sod it. Desperate times call for Chilean Sauvignon.

2)      I’m working from home which, on a day like today, means I’m not stuck in traffic or standing all the way home on the tube next to somebody who had onion sandwiches with a side order of raw garlic for lunch. My home journey consists of mooching into the living room with a cup of Lady Grey in time for Pointless.

Mmmm tea.

Mmmm tea.

3)      Being freelance means I get to do a lot fun stuff, some of which I might not do otherwise. One afternoon a couple of weeks ago I took myself off to the Docklands Museum just because I had never been. I tagged onto a free talk given by one of the guides and found out loads of amazing stuff about London Bridge. Next Friday I’m going to a do at St Paul’s Cathedral organised by my old school. And I don’t even have to fill in an annual-leave request form.

4)      Music cheers me up when I’m feeling down. I went to see the amazing Justin Currie on Tuesday at Union Chapel in Islington. It’s the first gig I’ve been to where I listened with a mug of tea in one hand and a kitkat in the other. A bit of a change from the usual gigs I go to. Today I booked to see the Temperance Movement in November, I’m seeing Madness at Ally Pally at the end of this month and my all-time faves Gogol Bordello In December. I can guarantee there won’t be tea and biccies at that one. On top of all that, my choir starts back next week and this term we’re tackling Bruno Mars (there’s a phrase I never thought I’d say) and performing a gig next Saturday. Which features a song in which I rap. Yes, my friends, I will be rapping in a shopping centre. I may not be the next best-selling author but I’m funky fresh on the microphone. Go figure.

Justin Currie at Union Chapel. Well, you wouldn't want a pic of me rapping now, would you?

Justin Currie at Union Chapel. Well, you wouldn’t want a pic of me rapping now, would you?

5)      I have fab family and friends. My mum sent me some pictures from my brother’s recent birthday party and I realised yet again that we’re all bonkers. I won’t embarrass them by posting any evidence here but I’m happy to say that it’s in the genes. My two nephews are equally bonkers. I’m so proud. I have friends who cheer me on, commiserate when the going gets tough and are not afraid to wear silly masks, sing karaoke or generally make fools of themselves.

No alcohol was consumed in the making of this picture.

No alcohol was consumed in the making of this picture.

6)      And finally…my writing. For many years I neglected writing for my career. It’s only on the last few years that I’ve realised how important writing is to me. I’ve written books, short stories, blogs, articles and now a script. It’s hard work and it’s horrible having my stuff rejected but as my brother put it this morning, ‘there’s a huge list of people who say they have a book in them but never do anything about it. You are in a special list.’

So today I’m glad to be special…in every way.

Over to you, readers. What are your reasons to be cheerful?

6 thoughts on “Reasons to be cheerful

  1. I really, truly, madly, deeply love how you write. Everyone of th eblogs you’ve written has had me thinking and smiling – thank you….and PLEASE keep on wiriting. x

  2. vsargent says:

    I am so sorry your script didn’t make it. I loved your post about how you put it together and was really rooting for you (if that is possible to do virtually). Hang on in there because I’m certain something will come good with your writing just now……

  3. Neighbours, my neighbours are fab.

Leave a Reply

Categories

